Sunshine in a can.

 Color Scheme

Computers are so useful. Many years ago, I bought a small house out in the country and we picked a pretty colour, a vibrant lovely blue. After it was on the walls I HATED it. I was pregnant when I picked it and I figured I must have had placenta brain or my judgement was affected by hormones. I got home from the hospital to find the welcome home surprise of exterior house painting accomplished and I spent the next three years trying not to look at my house. We moved. The brilliant azure blue so lovely in the tabs from the paint store, so ghastly on my house, became someone else’s problem.

Today computers can generate very cool “try as you go”. You can change the colours on the picture of the idealized house any way you like. The computer also gives you “suggestions” from the palette. I had a lot of fun with it. First thing I discovered is my taste in paint colours back then may not have been affected by hormones after all. I started out plugging in selections of purples, then rusts, then reds. I showed the various selections to the neighbours and one commented I needed to keep trying. The other said she was thinking of getting new opaque blinds anyway. Maybe brown? Couldn’t be worse. Might be better.

I was looking at some browns when I stumbled over “Golden Bounty”. That was how I got to yellow. And then I tried yellow. Normally, I don’t like yellow indoors because it is dingy inside a house. I actually hadn’t even considered yellows for outdoors. But with the handy-dander freshly-painted-house picture maker, I could try all kinds of bright lovely yellow combinations. I finally settled for what seems to me to be lovely. I took my picture to the neighbours and they loved it. Sunshine in a can, one said. That would just be such a nice pick me up in the dead of winter. I could open my blinds and just feel like maybe summer will return after all, said the other. And so it was a go. And here you can see the old colour on the front of house. The old colour is actually not bad but it’s peeling so it must be redone and why not add some sunshine to my life and the lives of my neighbours? So on my deck side you can see my lovely new “Wildflower” yellow.

We will continue to work away around the house until all the bare peeling paint in soft apricot is covered with lovely “Wildflower” yellow. This will take some time because it has to be scrapped clean, washed to remove lichens and mildew, and then primed with the sealer. (Okay I know they say the house paint is self priming, but I still think I need primer.) Later, we can add “Sunbeam” yellow where the teal is now and “Lightning” for the trim. For the doors, we will use “Golden Bounty” the colour that started it all. We hope to have it all done before we head south. At minimum we need to get all the “Wildflower” yellow done because that is what is peeling and showing bare wood that is hinting at rot in a few places. I was pleasantly surprised to see the old teal doesn’t look half bad with the yellow so if we can’t get to the teal until next spring, it won’t be a tragedy. Tomorrow back to scraping.

SAM_6245

Leave a Reply

