Poor Man’s Jewels

My daughter got a freebie package of plant seeds from Honey Nuts Cheerios. They are on a campaign to save the bees. Bees in Manitoba seem to be doing very well. We have had some trouble with mites and colony collapse but there are vast areas of Manitoba woodland, especially in the central regions around The Pas where it seems like every farm has a bee keeper on it. Locally grown honey is readily available along every highway. We have had continuous bees visiting our home. They probably come from our neighbour’s place which is about 2 kms from us and I have been teasing him saying I deserve a cut of his honey for free. When my apple trees were in bloom the trees actually buzzed there were so many honey bees feeding.

I was uncertain exactly what to do with mixed packet of unspecified flower seeds that is somehow supposed to help bees. I think it is probably a gimmick given how many other wildflowers we have, not to mention fruit trees and flowering shrubs and my sunflowers you can see about to bloom as well as the abundant parsley and dill seeds. Still, the seeds were free and from my much loved daughter, so I put them in one row. I have been richly rewarded.

IMG_0099

I have a lovely row of mixed poppies. I love poppies. My Ukranian grandmother grew poppies from the old country for their medicinal purposes until one day the RCMP showed up and made her dig them up and promise never to grow them again. I’m not sure what kind of poppies these ones are but I suspect a mix of Icelandic and Californian. A seed catalogue I used to order from as a young woman had a slogan calling flowers “Poor Man’s Jewels”. If that is true I now have enough for a queen.

IMG_0101IMG_0102IMG_0103

2 thoughts on “Poor Man’s Jewels

Leave a Reply

